Lennart-Bernadotte-Stiftung

Gardening for the sake of people and nature

In order to secure the future of the large, traditional island of Mainau, Count Lennart Bernadotte and his wife Countess Sonja Bernadotte founded the Lennart-Bernadotte-Stiftung (Lennart Bernadotte Foundation) in 1974, based on the island of Mainau, on Lake Constance. They chose the form of a private law foundation with a legal entity, which exclusively and directly follows charitable purposes. As the founders set up their day-to-day work with the motto “gardening for the sake of people and nature”, over many years, the island of Mainau has developed into a synthesis of a botanical garden, historical castle park, cultural experience space and international meeting place. The tasks of the foundation were determined as follows:


Foundation purposes

  • Promotion of international ethos and the sciences, particularly by making contacts between older and younger scientists on an international level, especially by promoting the board of trustees for the “Kuratorium für die Tagungen der Nobelpreisträger in Lindau e.V.” conferences of the noble prize winners in Lindau.
  • Promotion of landscape management on the basis of the “Green charter of Mainau” issued on 20 April 1961 at the fifth Mainau round table discussion, particularly the promotion of the German Council for Landscape Management and the “Deutsche Gartenbau-Gesellschaft 1822 e.V.”
  • Promotion of “Europäisches KulturForum Mainau e.V.”, which is under the patronage of the European council in Strasbourg, and which promotes and moderates culture in international Lake Constance
  • In the area of “Pro Integration”, promotion of the association “Gärtnern für Alle e.V.”, which introduces young people with learning difficulties to horticultural but also other professions, and in the specialist area of “Green School” with school gardens, green classrooms, international Mainau Youth Games, teacher seminars and other gardening-related courses to show young people and adults the way to nature education.

The foundation tasks are primarily fulfilled by financial support from the relevant institutions. Finally, the Lennart Bernadotte Foundation awards the “Lennart Bernadotte prize for landscape management” annually, endowed with €5,000, for excellent dissertations at German universities in the area of landscape management, and the “Sonja-Bernadotte medal” for horticulture, endowed with €1,000, for particularly good dissertations in the area of garden culture.

Foundation assets

The foundation assets consist of company shares in Mainau GmbH, which has to work as a private tourism company without public subsidies in accordance with market-oriented aspects. The share profits form the financial basis for the fulfilment of the charitable foundation goals. The budget is supplemented by donations. A foundation council is responsible for the fulfilment of the tasks and administration of the foundation assets. Its role is subject to supervision by the regional council of Freiburg as a foundation authority. The members of the foundation council are Professor Dr.-Ing. habil. Dagmar Schipanski (chairman), Forstdirektor a.D. Volkmar Theo Leutenegger (deputy chairman), Count Björn Bernadotte, Countess Bettina Bernadotte, Countess Catherina Ruffing Bernadotte of Wisborg, Count Christian Graf Bernadotte and Countess Diana Gräfin.

Foundation philosophy

The fixed foundation purposes form the consistent continuation of the goals, that Prof. Dr. h.c. mult. Count Lennart Bernadotte of Wisborg and Countess Sonja Bernadotte of Wisborg set in their life work. The island of Mainau in Lake Constance should not just be an experience space, but also consistently serve the large social tasks of our times. The centuries-old spiritual and cultural-historical heritage of the island of Mainau will be continued into the future by the Bernadotte family at Castle Mainau, with traditional and modern design skills.

 


Contact Information
Lennart-Bernadotte-Foundation
D-78465 Mainau
Tel.: 0049 7531 303 355,
www.Lennart-Bernadotte-Stiftung.de

Donations
Konto-Nr.: 214 562 103, Volksbank e.G. Konstanz (BLZ 692 910 00)
IBAN: DE 60_6929_1000_0214_5621_03
BIC: GENODE 61 RAD

© 2019 | Mainau GmbH - All rights reserved | Imprint | Privacy Policy

Lennart-Bernadotte-Stiftung

Gärtnern um des Menschen und um der Natur willen

Damit das große, traditionsreiche Werk „Insel Mainau“ für alle Zukunft gesichert bleibt, haben Lennart Graf Bernadotte und seine Frau Sonja Gräfin Bernadotte im Jahr 1974 die Lennart-Bernadotte-Stiftung mit Sitz auf der Insel Mainau im Bodensee ins Leben gerufen. Sie wählten die Form einer privatrechtlichen Stiftung mit eigener Rechtspersönlichkeit, die ausschließlich und unmittelbar gemeinnützige Zwecke verfolgt. Da die Stifter ihre tägliche Arbeit unter das Motto „Gärtnern um des Menschen und um der Natur willen“ gestellt haben, hat sich die Insel Mainau in vielen Jahren zu einer Synthese aus botanischem Garten, historischem Schlosspark, kulturellem Erlebnisraum und Ort der internationalen Begegnung entwickelt. Die Aufgaben der Stiftung wurden wie folgt festgelegt:


Stiftungszwecke

  • Förderung internationaler Gesinnung und der Wissenschaften, insbesondere durch Herstellung des Kontakts zwischen älteren und jüngeren Wissenschaftlern auf internationaler Ebene, vor allem durch Förderung des Kuratoriums für die Tagungen der Nobelpreisträger in Lindau e.V.
  • Förderung der Landespflege auf der Grundlage der am 20. April 1961 beim fünften Mainauer Rundgespräch beschlossenen „Grünen Charta von der Mainau“, insbesondere die Förderung des Deutschen Rates für Landespflege und der Deutschen Gartenbau-Gesellschaft 1822 e.V.
  • Förderung des Europäischen KulturForums Mainau e.V., das unter der Schirmherrschaft des Europarates in Straßburg steht und die Kultur am internationalen Bodensee fördert und moderiert
  • Förderung des Vereins „Gärtnern für Alle e.V.“, der im Fachbereich „Pro Integration“ lernschwache, bildungsfähige Jugendliche in gärtnerische, aber auch andere Berufe führt und im Fachbereich „Grüne Schule“ mit Schulgarten, grünem Klassenzimmer, internationalen Mainauer Jugendspielen, Lehrerseminaren und sonstigen gartennahen Kursen Jugendlichen und Erwachsenen Wege zur Naturerziehung aufzeigt.

Die Stiftungsaufgaben werden hauptsächlich durch finanzielle Förderung der entsprechenden Institutionen erfüllt. Schließlich vergibt die Lennart-Bernadotte-Stiftung jährlich den mit € 5.000,- dotierten „Lennart-Bernadotte-Preis für Landespflege“ für herausragende Dissertationen an deutschen Universitäten auf dem Gebiet der Landespflege sowie die „Sonja-Bernadotte-Medaille“ für Gartenkultur, dotiert mit € 1.000, für besonders gute Diplomarbeiten auf dem Gebiet der Gartenkultur.

Stiftungsvermögen

Das Stiftungsvermögen besteht aus Geschäftsanteilen an der Mainau GmbH, die als touristisches Privatunternehmen ohne öffentliche Subventionen nach marktwirtschaftlichen Gesichtspunkten arbeiten muss. Die Erträge aus den Anteilen bilden die finanzielle Grundlage für die Erfüllung der gemeinnützigen Stiftungsziele. Der Haushalt wird durch Spenden ergänzt. Ein Stiftungsvorstand ist für die ordnungsgemäße Erfüllung der Aufgaben und die Verwaltung des Stiftungsvermögens verantwortlich. Seine Tätigkeit unterliegt der Aufsicht durch das Regierungspräsidium Freiburg als Stiftungsbehörde. Die Mitglieder des Stiftungsvorstands sind Professor Dr.-Ing. habil. Dagmar Schipanski (Vorsitzende), Forstdirektor a.D. Volkmar Theo Leutenegger (stellvertretender Vorsitzender), Björn Graf Bernadotte, Bettina Gräfin Bernadotte, Catherina Ruffing, Gräfin Bernadotte af Wisborg, Christian Graf Bernadotte sowie Diana Gräfin Bernadotte.

Stiftungsphilosophie

Die festgesetzten Stiftungszwecke stellen die konsequente Fortführung der Ziele dar, die sich Prof. Dr. h.c. mult. Lennart Graf Bernadotte af Wisborg und Sonja Gräfin Bernadotte af Wisborg mit ihrem Lebenswerk gesetzt haben. Die Insel Mainau im Bodensee soll nicht nur Erlebnisraum sein, sondern auch stets den großen gesellschaftlichen Aufgaben unserer Tage dienen. Das jahrhundertealte geistige und kulturgeschichtliche Erbe der Insel Mainau wird von der Familie Bernadotte auf Schloss Mainau mit Traditionsbewusstsein und moderner Gestaltungsfreude in die Zukunft geführt.


Kontakt
Lennart-Bernadotte-Stiftung
D-78465 Mainau
Tel.: 0049 7531 303 355,
www.Lennart-Bernadotte-Stiftung.de

Spenden
Konto-Nr.: 214 562 103, Volksbank e.G. Konstanz (BLZ 692 910 00)
IBAN: DE 60_6929_1000_0214_5621_03
BIC: GENODE 61 RAD

Erleben Sie die Blumeninsel Mainau

Online-Ticket buchen   Gutschein schenken

© 2016 | Mainau GmbH - Alle Rechte vorbehalten | Impressum | Datenschutzerklärung